Thursday, December 31, 2009

Foggy Bottom Squirrels


Foggy Morning Visitor
Foggy Morning quest at the feeder, watching from the trees

Wednesday, December 30, 2009

Blue Jays

Jays are Fascinating
They are striking beautiful birds, no matter how big a nuisance they can be.

Tuesday, December 29, 2009

Raiders of the Night

Raiders on the Feeder
Last night there were so many outside at the feeder that they made so much noise I was awakened. They even climbed up on the bike racks at the back of the RV to get to the seed storage containers.

Sunday, December 27, 2009

Blue Birds

Blue Birds of Texas
Beautiful Blue Birds of Texas

More Blue Jays

Curious George

Just as the Canadian Jays or Camp Robbers of Alaska these southern cousins are curious as all get out. They are as noisy or more so than the jays of Alaska. But strikingly beautiful in their blue black and white colorations.

Friday, December 25, 2009

Blue Jays

Blue Jays on Snow
We moved 4300 miles north to escape snow and cold only to have it snow where. First time it's snow here in 83 years on Christmas day. I think it followed us all the way from Alaska.

Saturday, December 19, 2009

Red Birds of Burleson

Early Morning Bird Calls
He's telling me all the morning gossip here at the breakfast table

Friday, December 18, 2009

Mating Season Already

Mating Rituals
Caught a mating chase in progress yesterday by several Fox Squirrels yesterday.

Thursday, December 17, 2009

Santa LIve

Santa Live on the Web
See Santa live on the web at http://www.thesquirrelcam.com/santa-cam/

Monday, December 14, 2009

Possum

Marsupials of the Americas
You sure don't see any of these in North Pole on the old Permafrost Ranch. But here in Texas a regular visitor to the feeder at night

Saturday, December 12, 2009

Got Nuts

Got any goodies for me
Always looking for the nuts I feed them

Friday, December 11, 2009

Drinking Water

Fresh Water from the Creek
Caught this fellow drinking from the creek flowing through the back side of the RV Park

Wednesday, December 09, 2009

Odd Looking Squirrel

Large Squirrel at the Feeder
Caught this Squirrel at my feeder the other Day. All I could think of is Steaks

Tuesday, December 08, 2009

Burleson Cardinals

Red Birds of Burleson Texas
They are so pretty and I think they know it.

Saturday, December 05, 2009

Rare Snow Bird

Rare Snow Bird Sightings
Caught a picture of the Rare Alaskan Snow Bird sitting in the shade of a sunny South Texas Day. Amazing that one can catch such a rare creature out and about.

Monday, November 30, 2009

Wednesday, November 25, 2009

Fox Squirrels of Flour Bluff

Fat and Happy
This fellow is fat and happy to be sitting on the feeder.

Monday, November 23, 2009

Cardinals of Corpus Christi

Visiting Royalty
I love to see this Cardinals on the Feeder, this male is aggressive as all get out. He even runs the female off the feeder if both land on it at the same time

Saturday, November 21, 2009

Friday, November 20, 2009

Pole Dancing


Pole Dancing
Pole Dancing, Fox Squirrel style, sexy isn't it.

Thursday, November 19, 2009

Wednesday, November 18, 2009

Sunday, November 15, 2009

Great Blue Herons

Great Blue Heron Day on the Beach
Saw a lot of Great Blue Herons on the Beach yesterday as we drove down Padre Island National Sea Shore.

Saturday, November 14, 2009

Great Blue Herons

Great Blue Herons
We went to the beach today because when we first got up we checked the temperatures in North Pole Alaska. It was -26 degrees and it was 76 degrees here in Corpus Christi. That's over a hundred degree difference. To celebrate this difference, we went to the beach. Viva La Difference




Friday, November 13, 2009

Thursday, November 12, 2009

Birds of Texas

Cara Cara (Mexican Eagles)
We were out birding yesterday, got some nice shots of these birds. I wish I had a long distance lens and camera for birding.

Tuesday, November 10, 2009

Top Knots

She's got a Top Knot
She's got her Sunday Bonnet on today.

Sunday, November 08, 2009

Saturday, November 07, 2009

Inca Doves

Pretty Little Doves
What I've heard about these little doves is that they are moving into this territory just recently from farther south. They group together to withstand the cool temperatures. They are so pretty, with the feathers being outlined with a darker color than the interior of the feather.

Friday, November 06, 2009

Red Birds of Corpus Christi

Red Birds of Corpus Christi
He comes to the feeder at least once a day since we have had it up.

Tuesday, November 03, 2009

Fox Squirrels of Flour Bluff

Big Boy on the Feeder
I'm naming this fellow "Big Boy". He's the largest male to come to the feeder. He's down right Chunky

Monday, November 02, 2009

Saturday, October 31, 2009

The Old Evil Eye

Looking at all the Goblins and Ghost
On Samhain, this old evil eye is looking for Goblins and Ghost to bring him something good to eat. Storm Crows

Thursday, October 29, 2009

Herons

Herons of the Gulf Coast
Was out birding yesterday and got this shot in Port Aransas, Texas

Tuesday, October 27, 2009

Odd Looking Squirrel

Real Big Squirrel
I never had a squirrel that looked like this one on the feeder in North Pole. Large and hungry to boot

Sunday, October 25, 2009

Turkey Vulture

Vultures of Corpus and South Texas
You should see these big birds soaring on the breeze, fun to watch.

Thursday, October 22, 2009

Morning Doves

Morning Doves (Inca Doves)
I love to hear their calls early in the morning at the RV Park, they won't land on the feeder but if I throw some seeds out on the ground they will come.

Wednesday, October 21, 2009

Female Cardinal

Female Cardinal
She's not quite as colorful as her male counterpart, but pretty as a picture in her own right.

Tuesday, October 20, 2009

Female Mocking Bird

Female Mocking Bird
She saw me move the camera and looked right at me.

Monday, October 19, 2009

Wood Pecker

Golden Fronted Woodpecker
I think this is a golden fronted woodpecker, female but I'm not completely sure.

Sunday, October 18, 2009

Midnight Raider

Caught in the Act
Caught this feeder raider red handed, so to speak, last night.

Friday, October 16, 2009

Cardinals of Corpus Christi

The Cardinals of the Feeder
Red birds, Cardinals was the first to bless the new feeder with a visit.

Thursday, October 15, 2009

Great Kiskadee

The Great Kiskadee
I saw this bird before but finally got a good picture of the bird. Awesome coloration on this bird.

Wednesday, October 14, 2009

Doves of Corpus Christi

Morning Doves of Flour Bluff
These little doves were cooing and bonding this morning

Sunday, October 11, 2009

Shore Birds of Padre Island

Shore Bird Family
We are on Padre Island, Corpus Christi Texas, and the weather is fine. I hope all is well back in Alaska, this family is enjoying the beach.

Friday, October 09, 2009

Sunrise in Corpus Christi

Sunrise from the Beach
Sunrise this morning from the city of Corpus Christi, Texas

Thursday, October 08, 2009

Flour Bluff, Corpus Christi, Texas

Here is where I'm at
We are in Corpus Christi, Texas. The wind is blowing hard off the gulf when I awoke this morning. Rattling the windows of the RV. Got outside just in time to see a large shooting star. Is that a sign, of bad luck. I certainly hope not.

Sunday, October 04, 2009

Storm Clouds

Gathering Storm Clouds
The clouds are gathering for a thunder storm over Burleson Texas

Sunday, September 27, 2009

RV Advertisement

New Stickers on the RV
We went to Traders Village and got these Stickers for the RV

Wednesday, September 16, 2009

Flowers of Texas2

Actually they are Bushes


Flowered Bushes of the Great State of Texas